Moylagh GAA Football Club

The Official Moylagh GAA Club Website

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Club News Junior D Football Championship. Moylagh 1-7 Bective 2-18

Junior D Football Championship. Moylagh 1-7 Bective 2-18

E-mail Print PDF

Junior D Football Championship

Venue Athboy

Final Score: Moylagh 1-7 Bective 2-18


Moylagh were eventually worn down by a talented Bective outfit in this Junior D encounter that was more keenly contested than the finally score would suggests.


The teams served up an entertaining and evenly fought first half. Thanks to a goal from Padraic McCormack, a couple of points from Shane Brody and one each from Brian Gibney and Aengus Fanning Moylagh were well in touch at half time. The half ending with Moylagh trailing by just two points at Moylagh 1-4 to Bective 0-9.


Despite taking the wind advantage in the second half Moylagh were unable to kick on. In the mean time Bective played some impressive attacking football for this level and racked up an unassailable lead. Moylagh fought on gamely with some points of their own but were unable to make any inroads to Bective's lead.


Best for Moylagh were Carl Clinton, Tommy Melia and Willie Reilly


Moylagh scorers: Padraic McCormack 1-2, Aengus Fanning 0-2, Shane Brody 0-2, Brian Gibney 0-1

Moylagh team: Niall McNelis, John Reilly, Ciaran Foley, Philip Grall, Brian Gibney, Karl Clinton, Nicky Brunton, William Reilly, Shane Brody, Daire Flood, Aengus Fanning, Thomas Melia, Sean Og Doyne, Padraic McCormack, Declan McCormack

Moylagh subs: Brian Geraghty for Aengus Fanning, Michael Corrigan for Shane Brody, Ross Reilly for Brian Gibney, Enda MacNamee for Ciaran Foley, Brian Farrelly for Daire Flood

Last Updated on Sunday, 20 April 2014 21:01