Moylagh GAA Football Club

The Official Moylagh GAA Club Website

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Club News
The News

Moylagh beat Rathmoylan in hurling league

E-mail Print PDF

Moylagh  recorded  their first league win of the year in this entertaining game played in Moylagh on Saturday evening.

Having won the toss Moylagh played with the wind in the first half and opened up a  2-05 to 0-3  halftime lead.
Two well taken goals from Stephen Tierney and Paddy Grall  set Moylagh on their way and also Paddy Rahill was causing the Rathmoylan fullback line all sorts of problims in the first half hour.
Moylagh knew at half  time that Rathmoylan would have a good go in the second half but it was the boys in green who got those all important early  scores through Eanna Brody ,Paddy Rahill and Colm O Shea.
Rathmoylan did find the Moylagh net but the full back line of   Jimmy Tuite  Philip Grall and  John White did a fine job in keeping the Rathmoylan forwards  out.
This  was a good all round team display from the current Meath Junior Champions with Colm Melia solid in goals captain Jimmy Tuite and  half back Cieran Foley in excellent form. Midfield pair of Owen Gilsnan and  Eanna Brody  again were dominent. In the forwards Paddy Grall , Stephen Tierney and Paddy Rahill were on top form for the whole game.
Full  Time
Moylagh       2-11
Rathmoylan  1-07
Moylagh team
Colm Melia , Jimmy Tuite ,Philip Grall , John White, Cieran Foley , Eamon Boyle ,Cieran Grall, Eanna Brody [0-2],Owen Gilsenan, Paddy Grall ,[1-02] Kevin Foley , Colm O Shea[0-1], Paddy Rahill [0-5], Stephen Tierney[1-01] , Tommy Melia
Subs Cian McPartland   for Cieran Grall. Neill McNellis for Paddy Rahill
Sean Payton for Cieran Foley. Ollie Melia for Eanna Brody . Cieran Hannon for Colm O Shea

Moylagh GAA Annual Cycle Challenge - Sunday May 18th

E-mail Print PDF

80km Cycle event covering the lakelands of Meath & Westmeath takes place Sunday May 18th.

Also incorporating a 40 km course and a 15 km fun cycle.

Starting at Moylagh Community Centre, Dromone at 10am. Sign in will be available from 8.30.

No Helmet No Ride.
Refreshments served on the day.

Run in association with TC Racing - Oldcastle Cycling Club

This is one of Moylagh GAA's main fundraising events of the year so all support is appreciated!

Last Updated on Wednesday, 07 May 2014 12:18

Best of Luck to Willie McGrath!

E-mail Print PDF

Best of luck to Moylagh's Willie McGrath tomorrow making his Christy Ring debut for the Meath Hurlers v Down.

Get to Trim Saturday on May 3rd at 2.30 to support Willie & Meath!


Junior Football Championship Moylagh 0-12 Boardsmill 0-02

E-mail Print PDF
Junior Football Championship
Venue Athboy
Final Score: Moylagh 0-12 Boardsmill 0-02


Moylagh put in an encouraging performance to overcome Boardsmill in the Easter sunshine in Athboy and open their account in this years Junior Championship.


Despite playing against a tricky wind a miserly defensive performance saw Moylagh keep a clean sheet in the first half of the game. 2 points each from Tommy O'Reilly, Niall McAlarney and Willie McGrath saw the teams go in at the break at Moylagh 0-06 to Boardsmill 0-0.


Moylagh lost their shape somewhat early in the second half in the face of an improved display from Boardsmill finding scores harder to come by in the first ten minutes of the half. Two points in succession from Boardsmill gave them some hope of getting back into the game. However Moylagh steadied the ship once again and in spite of a black card to impressive young full back Nathan Doyle they closed out the game well with good points from Maurice Quinn, Willie McGrath and captain Paddy Grall. The final score in the game was Moylagh 0-12 Boardsmill 0-02.


Best for Moylagh in solid team performance were  Paddy Grall in defence, Tommy O'Reilly in midfield, Sean Martin & top scorer Willie McGrath in attack.


Moylagh scorers: Willie McGrath 0-4, Tommy O'Reilly 0-2, Niall McAlarney 0-2, Eanna Brody, 0-1, Maurice Quinn 0-1, Padraic Traynor 0-1, Paddy Grall 0-1

Moylagh team: Ciaran Hannon, Aaron Hand, Nathan Doyle, Shane Grall, Kevin Foley, Peter Fox, Patrick Grall, Tomas O Reilly, Colm Fanning, Sean Martin, Maurice Quinn, Padraic Traynor, Niall McAlarney, William McGrath, Eanna Brody
Moylagh subs: Ciaran Grall for Padraic Traynor
Last Updated on Sunday, 20 April 2014 20:56

Junior D Football Championship. Moylagh 1-7 Bective 2-18

E-mail Print PDF

Junior D Football Championship

Venue Athboy

Final Score: Moylagh 1-7 Bective 2-18


Moylagh were eventually worn down by a talented Bective outfit in this Junior D encounter that was more keenly contested than the finally score would suggests.


The teams served up an entertaining and evenly fought first half. Thanks to a goal from Padraic McCormack, a couple of points from Shane Brody and one each from Brian Gibney and Aengus Fanning Moylagh were well in touch at half time. The half ending with Moylagh trailing by just two points at Moylagh 1-4 to Bective 0-9.


Despite taking the wind advantage in the second half Moylagh were unable to kick on. In the mean time Bective played some impressive attacking football for this level and racked up an unassailable lead. Moylagh fought on gamely with some points of their own but were unable to make any inroads to Bective's lead.


Best for Moylagh were Carl Clinton, Tommy Melia and Willie Reilly


Moylagh scorers: Padraic McCormack 1-2, Aengus Fanning 0-2, Shane Brody 0-2, Brian Gibney 0-1

Moylagh team: Niall McNelis, John Reilly, Ciaran Foley, Philip Grall, Brian Gibney, Karl Clinton, Nicky Brunton, William Reilly, Shane Brody, Daire Flood, Aengus Fanning, Thomas Melia, Sean Og Doyne, Padraic McCormack, Declan McCormack

Moylagh subs: Brian Geraghty for Aengus Fanning, Michael Corrigan for Shane Brody, Ross Reilly for Brian Gibney, Enda MacNamee for Ciaran Foley, Brian Farrelly for Daire Flood

Last Updated on Sunday, 20 April 2014 21:01

Page 4 of 17


Moylagh GFC have appointed Eamonn Campbell as treasurer for the coming year